Nous avons 164 invités en ligne
22
Auo 11
Mise à jour le 02 Novembre 2012

Dafnonas

Lieu

Dafnonas est une jolie et pitoresque colonie située à environ 9 km de la ville de Chios. Ce village pris son nom de dafnes (laurier) et est situé sur les pentes du mont "Kakia Skala", d'où on peut observer Kambochora, Ka,bos, la mer et la côte Ionienne (Asie Mineure) à travers la mer Egée. D'après la tradition, le village vient d'une ancienne colonie de Petrana, de Kanavoustata ou de Lavrina qui fût transférée ici à la fin du 10ième et au début du 11ième siècle.

Aghios Panteleimon est le Saint favoris du village. Le temple qui se situe à l'entrée du village avec un magnifique cloché en pierre fût construit en 1990. Il y a aussi une église en l'honneur de Aghios Georgios, un ancien temple qui a été réparé et rénové récemment.

Autour du village il a de nombreux autres lieux qui sont très bien a visiter tels que Kanavoutsato, Stratigato ou Vertarchato, où il y a de nombreux objets médievaux et greques. De plus, ces villes ont aussi les marques de l'occupation Genoise comme le château en ruines au centre du village ou les tours à Lavrina.

We have 128 guests online
22
Aug 11
Last Updated on 02 November 2012

Dafnonas

Location

Dafnonas is a beautiful settlement, located about nine kilometers from the city of Chios.

This village name originates from the dafnes ("laurels") and it is located on the slopes of mount "Kakia Skala", from where it oversees all the area, including the villages of Kambochora and Kambos, the Agean Sea and the coast of Ionia (Asia Minor). According to the legend, the village was formed from an old village at Petrana, at Kanavoutsata, or at Lavrina, which was transferred to its present location in the end of the 10th or the beginning of the 11th century.

Agios Panteleimon is the favored Saint of the village. His temple is situated at the entrance of the village with a wonderful stone bell tower, built in 1990. There is also a church dedicated to Agios Georgios', as well as an ancient temple, which has been renovated recently.

Around the village are many other places that are worth a visit, such as Kanavoutsato, Stratigato or Vestarchato, with plenty of medieval and ancient Greek sights. Besides, these towns also display the marks of the past Genoese leadership, like the ruined castle in the center of the village, the tower in Lavrina and many more.