Nous avons 165 invités en ligne
22
Auo 11
Mise à jour le 02 Novembre 2012

Vavili

Lieu

Vavili est au Sud-ouest de la ville de Chios et juste à 7 km de celle ci. La principale occupation pour ces 200 citoyens est l'agriculture. Leurs jardins sont situes sur le côté Ouest du village, du côté de Sklavia, où il y a des puits remplis d'eau. Ils produisent plusieurs produits prématurés et les fameux bonbons et des flageolets de Vavili. Il y a aussi une petite production de Mastique.

Ce petit village appartient aussi a la municipalité de Kambochora. Mais il maintient son école municipale, et il a une bibliothèque et un musée Bysantin. Dans ce dernier, des objets d'une  grande valeurs et de magnifiques photos prisent depuis le temple de Panaghia Krina  sont exposées.

Le nom Vavili est dit être dérive du nom Genois "Vavilas", cependant la tradition mentionne que le village fut construit par des esclaves (kopelia, sklavia) de Gènes, qui avaient leurs châteaux et leurs états dans cette partie de l'île( Krina, Kardamada, Anemonas, Sklavia). Quand les esclaves furent libérés, en plus de leur liberté ils eurent le droit de s'installer sur  une terre non loin et de la cultiver. Cette tradition est aussi une explication possible du nom Sklavia (esclavage), (sklavi=petit esclave).

We have 164 guests online
22
Aug 11
Last Updated on 02 November 2012

Vavili

Location

Vavili is southwest of the city of Chios and just seven kilometers away from it. The main occupation of its 200 citizens is agricultural sector. Their gardens are located in the west side of the village, the side of Sklavia, with wells and plenty of water.

They produce many gardening products and the very famous and sweet beans of Vavili. There is also a small production of mastic.

This small village also belongs to the municipality of Kambochora, although it maintains its municipal school. Besides, it has a library and a Byzantine Museum where ecclesiastical objects of great value and wonderful pictures taken from the temple of Panaghia Krina are being exposed.

The name "Vavili" is said to be derived from the Genoese last name "Vavilas", while the tradition mentions that the village was built from the slaves (kopelia, sklavia) of the Genoese, who had their castles and their estates in the area (Krina, Kardamada, Anemonas, Sklavia). When the slaves were set free, they were granted the right to settle in the area nearby and cultivate it, a fact that could explain the name Sklavia (gr. sklavia = slavery, gr. sklavi= little slave).

In the area the visitor can still see the church of Agios Ioannis of the Catholics and some old Genoese mansions.